Darkly Labs Community

Thick Paper - Getting Yellowish Scorch/Burn Marks

I’m cutting 220gsm white thick paper into detailed designs but getting slightly yellowed edges. I didn’t notice it straight away but a day later I can see a few yellow smears - like scorched areas.

I used the library setting for the paper. Should I change something in the settings to stop this happening? (is it to do with speed?). Any help appreciated - I’m new at this laser game.

Thank you :slight_smile:

1 Like

Are the marks concentrated around the most detailed areas of your design?

I have had inconsistent char/smoke marks in high detail designs because the laser spends a lot of time in the same area and there is a slight build up of residual heat in thin materials like paper (at least that’s my guess at what’s going on).

In some of my previous work I have isolated areas of my designs to run in a second pass so that the laser won’t stay in the one area for too long before moving on.

Otherwise I find that reducing the power to the minimum that will consistently cut through the paper is worth doing for each different type and color of paper or card that I cut as each has a slightly different “sweet spot”. 

Hope that helps

Hey Daniel, the whole thing is detailed so the marks are all over it really. I’m cutting at a speed of 700 and power of 100%. It’s only just cutting through, with some bits that need a little extra help to come off (scalpel). I increased the material thickness (to 0.5mm) in a bid to help it cut better.

I’ve now taped it to a piece of glass (2mm and so I’ve increased the support measurement to 12mm) as I read that could help but doesn’t seem to have made any difference.

Any thoughts on what I should try next would be great!

Thanks