Darkly Labs Community

Lens burn

Hello all! I have been using my emblaser 2 for about 6 months now. I noticed on the last run it wasn’t cutting well do I went in for a deep lens clean to find the lens is burnt. Any ideas on where I went wrong? Hoping the new lens gets here quickly!

I have a photo of the lens but could not attach it to this post. The lens literally has a big black burn dot in the center that cannot be cleaned off.

I found myself in the same situation today and close examination showed that the lens had been burnt by the laser. I performed a deep clean two weeks ago and think the problem comes through lasing wood that is not fully dried out so that volatile elements are vaporised and deposit on the lens which then catches the laser light/heat and burns  the lens.

Frank 

Thanks! I also just received an email back from darkly labs. They are reporting it is the current lens’ fault as it is two lens glued together and microscopic particals could be trapped between, causing the burn. They said they are currently working on a new solid piece lens.

1 Like

That’s good news Thanks Elizabeth.

This is what I found today :frowning:
Looks exactly as you have described.
I think will start another post about it. I’m not real happy about needing another lens so soon…$$

Oh yes. I’ve gone threw 3 lenses in less than 6 months now… huge waste of money for my business. I’m also having issues even getting the machine to run for more than five minutes now.

Hi Elizabeth,
how many hours per week are you using your Emblaser2?
Are the latest lenses one piece?

I solved the short runtime problem by removing the back housing of the lens and cleaning out MDF dust. And all fans.
If the board overheats, the machine stops