Darkly Labs Community

Basic power and cut rate levels

Hi everyone, 
I am a newbie to the whole laser system thing and trying to get my head around learning Inkscape and Laserweb and everything that comes with the Emblaser 2!

I was wondering if anyone has some kind of basic summary sheet to help me with the Laser power percentage and the Cut rates. I get the impression this can vary widely depending on the material and whether you are cutting/engraving but I am starting with fairly basic projects, a lot of which are coming from Thingiverse and etsy etc. 

I’ve done the logo tutorial which sets the 'laser fill path" at 1500mm/min and 25%, and the “laser cut” operation at 3000mm/min and 50% power. How do I know what are the appropriate settings for materials?

Thanks, 

Emily. 

Hi Emily, basic cutting setting I use at the moment are, standard white paper - 1500mm/min 100% power.
6 mm corrugated cardboard 250mm/min 3 passes no change in height and 100% power and air assist on, and 3 mm plywood same settings as 6mm cardboard, hope that helps.
Especially with the 6mm cardboard, keep an eye on cutting as it can catch fire

Hi Emily,

I’ve had an Emblaser 1 and then an Emblaser 2 for almost 2 years, and I personally have found that if theres one thing that is certain, its that there is no  definitive power or speed for any given material. When I first got the Emblaser 1 I just stuck stuff under it and went for it. Initially cardboard caught fire and plywood that looked cut through had no laser marks on the back when I turned it over, but it was all part of learning.

What I’d be doing because its what I did when I first got the E1 and hd never touched a laser before and had no idea what it was all about is to create a little test file in Inkscape - mine was just a small star shape down the bottom left corner, stick what you are planning to cut under the laser and just play around with the settings until its cut through but not ablaze.